Roy Hoffman

Biography

Roy Hoffman is author of the novel The Promise of the Pelican and three earlier novels, Come Landfall, Chicken Dreaming Corn, praised by Harper Lee, and Almost Family; and the nonfiction books Alabama Afternoons and Back Home. A resident of Fairhope, Alabama, he has written for The New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall St. Journal, and is on the faculty of Spalding University's Naslund-Mann Graduate School of Writing. Visit him online at RoyHoffmanWriter.com.
   


Schedule

10:45 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.
State Capitol, John J. Hainkel Jr. Room
Discussion
Thrills and Kills: Adventure, Mystery, and Murder
with Roy Hoffman, P.M. LaRose, M.B. Lewis, and Mary Manhein

Noon to 12:45 p.m.
Cavalier House Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


The Promise of the Pelican: A Novel

For fans of Harper Lee and Rita Mae Brown, Roy Hoffman's new novel is steeped in a sense of place--coastal Alabama--with its rich tapestry of characters caught in a web of justice not for all.

Early Praise for The Promise of the Pelican:

"Roy Hoffman has written a fast-paced, mesmerizing and incredibly moving contemporary novel about human and civil rights,"-- bestselling author Lee Smith

"A thrilling novel, with characters as memorable as those of Shakespearean tragedy...I could not put it down." --Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife

At once a literary crime novel and an intergenerational family drama, The Promise of the Pelican is set in the multicultural South, where justice might depend on the color of your skin and your immigration status. Hank Weinberg is a modern day Atticus Finch, recently retired as a defense attorney in Mobile, Alabama, and a Holocaust survivor, who fled the Nazis as a young child. With his daughter in rehab, he's now taking care of his special needs grandson. Mourning his dead wife, spending mornings fishing on the pier with other octogenarians, he passes the rest of his days watching over his sweet grandson with the help of Lupita, a young Honduran babysitter. When her brother Julio, an undocumented immigrant, is accused of murder, Hank must return to the courtroom to defend him while also trying to save his daughter and grandson's life from spinning out of control. The Promise of the Pelican takes its title from the legend that a pelican will pierce its own breast for blood to feed its starving chicks, a metaphor for one old man who risks all to save the vulnerable.

In a crisp prose style Harper Lee called "lean and clean," Hoffman writes from an enormous well of compassion. He fills his new novel with a cast of finely drawn characters of all ages and abilities facing life's harshest challenges and rising to meet them with dignity.

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email