Liz Lawson

Biography

Liz Lawson's debut contemporary YA novel, The Lucky Ones, released from Delacorte Press/Random House in 2020 was a Kirkus Best Book of 2020. Her most recent book is The Agathas, a YA mystery she co-wrote with Kathleen Glasgow (New York Times Bestselling author of Girl in Pieces). Currently, Lawson resides in the DC metro region, where she lives with an adorable toddler, a fantastic husband, and two VERY bratty cats. Find her on Tiktok, Instagram, and Twitter: @lzlwsn
   

 

 


Schedule

11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.
State Library, Fifth Floor, Capitol View Room
Discussion
Aftermath: Trauma in Young Adult Fiction
with Kathleen Glasgow, Shawn David Hutchinson, Liz Lawson, and Eric Smith

12:30 p.m. to 1:15 pm
Cavalier House Bookselling Tent
Book Signing

2:15 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
State Library, Second Floor Meeting Room
Book Talk
The Agathas
with Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson

3:15 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Cavalier House Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


The Agathas

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks they know what happened. But they're wrong. Two unlikely friends come together to solve the case in this fast-paced, fun, modern Agatha Christie inspired thriller.

"Part Agatha Christie, part Veronica Mars, and completely entertaining." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Of Us Is Lying

A PEOPLE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF SUMMER

Last summer, Alice Ogilvie’s basketball-star boyfriend Steve dumped her. Then she disappeared for five days. She's not talking, so where she went and what happened to her is the biggest mystery in Castle Cove. Or it was, at least. But now, another one of Steve’s girlfriends has vanished: Brooke Donovan, Alice’s ex–best friend. And it doesn’t look like Brooke will be coming back. . .

Enter Iris Adams, Alice’s tutor. Iris has her own reasons for wanting to disappear, though unlike Alice, she doesn’t have the money or the means. That could be changed by the hefty reward Brooke’s grandmother is offering to anyone who can share information about her granddaughter’s whereabouts. The police are convinced Steve is the culprit, but Alice isn’t so sure, and with Iris on her side, she just might be able to prove her theory.

In order to get the reward and prove Steve’s innocence, they need to figure out who killed Brooke Donovan. And luckily Alice has exactly what they need—the complete works of Agatha Christie. If there’s anyone that can teach the girls how to solve a mystery it’s the master herself. But the town of Castle Cove holds many secrets, and Alice and Iris have no idea how much danger they're about to walk into.


The Lucky Ones  

For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It Ends, and All the Bright Places, comes a gripping novel about life after. How do you put yourself back together when it seems like you've lost it all?

May is a survivor. But she doesn't feel like one. She feels angry. And lost. And alone. Eleven months after the school shooting that killed her twin brother, May still doesn't know why she was the only one to walk out of the band room that day. No one gets what she went through--no one saw and heard what she did. No one can possibly understand how it feels to be her.

Zach lost his old life when his mother decided to defend the shooter. His girlfriend dumped him, his friends bailed, and now he spends his time hanging out with his little sister...and the one faithful friend who stuck around. His best friend is needy and demanding, but he won't let Zach disappear into himself. Which is how Zach ends up at band practice that night. The same night May goes with her best friend to audition for a new band.

Which is how May meets Zach. And how Zach meets May. And how both might figure out that surviving could be an option after all.

A Chicago Public Library Systems selection for Best Teen Fiction
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2020 A Texas Library Association 2021 Reading List selection

"A harrowing and beautifully told story about how far the tentacles of tragedy can reach. May's story of grief, survival, and reckoning is tenderly and honestly explored. A simply stunning debut." --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

"A must-read for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and This Is How It Ends."--Paste Magazine

"Gripping, emotional, suspenseful, and ultimately hopeful" --Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email