Tiffany Quay Tyson

NameOAuthor

Biography

Tiffany Quay Tyson’s second novel, The Past is Never, was chosen as a 2018 “Okra Pick” by the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance. Her first novel, Three Rivers, was a finalist for the Mississippi Institute for Arts and Letters Award for Fiction and also the Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction. A native of Mississippi, she now resides in Denver, CO, where she teaches writing at the renowned Lighthouse Writers Workshop.

Tyson's Facebook Page Tyson's Twitter Feed Tyson's Instagram


Schedule

Noon to 12:45 p.m.
State Capitol Building, House Committee Room 4
Book Talk
On the Edge of Your Seat: Children Gone Missing

1 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.
Barnes & Noble Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


NameOAuthor

The Past Is Never: A Novel

A compelling addition to contemporary Southern Gothic fiction, deftly weaving together local legends, family secrets, and the search for a missing child.

Siblings Bert, Willet, and Pansy know better than to go swimming at the old rock quarry. According to their father, it's the Devil's place, a place that's been cursed and forgotten. But Mississippi Delta summer days are scorching hot and they can't resist cooling off in the dark, bottomless water. Until the day six-year-old Pansy vanishes. Not drowned, not lost . . . simply gone. When their father disappears as well, Bert and Willet leave their childhoods behind to try and hold their broken family together.

Years pass with no sign, no hope of ever finding Pansy alive, and as surely as their mother died of a broken heart, Bert and Willet can't move on. So when clues surface drawing them to the remote tip of Florida, they drop everything and drive south. Deep in the murky depths of the Florida Everglades they may find the answer to Pansy's mysterious disappearance . . . but truth, like the past, is sometimes better left where it lies.

Perfect for fans of Flannery O'Connor and Dorothy Allison, The Past Is Never is an atmospheric, haunting story of myths, legends, and the good and evil we carry in our hearts.

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email