Programs by Genre - Children's Interest

9 a.m. to 10 a.m.
Capitol Park Museum, First Floor Auditorium
Louisiana Writes! Awards Ceremony

The Louisiana Writing Project recognizes the winners of their statewide Louisiana Writes! writing contest.

10 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
I Have a Doll Just like You
(Ages 4 to 8)

Julie Larson’s children’s story about amputation and limb deficiency written with the goal of teaching children that people come in all shapes, sizes, colors, and abilities.

10 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
Zydeco Zoom
(Ages 3 to 9)

Theresa Newport Singleton tells the story of Zerick as he makes his first appearance on the music stage…and he is nervous to the bone. Find out how he calms himself and thrills his listeners with his accordion playing.

10:45 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
A Tree in the Sea
(Ages 8 to 12)

In singsong rhyming verse, Holly Kern takes readers on a dreamlike tour under the sea where you’ll meet a tree that is totally out of its element. The tree is lonely without friends, but It is hard to make friends when you are different! Illustrated by Blain Kern, Sr.

10:45 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
Bayou Santa
(For children of all ages)

In this new holiday offering, Leif Pedersen, author of the popular children’s book series, The Adventures of the Swamp Kids, presents this enchanting story about how Papa Noël came to be.

11:30 a.m. to Noon
Children’s Author Tent 1
Three Little Shrimp
(Ages 4 to 10)

Dive into the sea with J. Steven Spires to follow three very curious little shrimp as they innocently explore and narrowly escape becoming a predator’s next meal.

11:30 a.m. to Noon
Children’s Author Tent 2
Zombie Asockalypse
(Ages 4 to 10)

Jasper Price presents us with a toe-chilling story. Zombie socks are taking over the Small house, and that just stinks. The only way Suzie Small can put an end to these toe-biters and stop the Zombie Asockalypse is to enlist the help of her little brother Zac in finding the culprit responsible.

Noon to 12:45 p.m.
State Capitol Building, House Chamber
The Best Man
(Ages 9 to 12)

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

12:15 p.m. to 1 p.m.
Cooking Demonstration Tent
Grandma’s Traveling Kitchen: A Cooking Demo for Kids
(Ages 4 to 8)
Abbie “Gail” Gauthier

12:15 p.m. to 1 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award Presentation Honoring Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla
(Ages 4 to 8)
G. Brian Karas

12:15 p.m. to 12:45 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
L’il Red in the Great White North
(Ages 8 to 12)

Zachary Richard’s second installment of The Adventures of L'il Red and Hopewell Green finds the Louisiana duo transported to the Great White North (Canada), where they find an array of new friends and adventures.

1 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.
State Capitol Building, House Chamber
Santa Calls
(Ages 4 and up)

Three kids venture to the North Pole to help Santa defeat an army of evil elves in this holiday classic from the brilliant mind of William Joyce.

1 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
In the Time of Joy and Wonder
(Ages 5 to 8)

In the Time of Joy and Wonder is Paul Schexnayder’s fantastical tale of a king, a Trojan horse, and a blue monkey and their exploration of a very small island with a mysteriously beached boat.

1:15 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.
State Library, First Floor Seminar Center
Come Sunday: A Young Reader’s History of Congo Square
(Ages 8 to 12)

Freddi Williams Evans’s image-driven book develops a deeper understanding of the people and events that shaped the history of New Orleans’s Congo Square. This book supports standards and benchmarks in social studies and language arts, and it invites discussions, cross curriculum instruction, and extended learning opportunities.

1:15 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
The Boy Who Dreamed Big
(Ages 4 to 8)

Alton Carter’s The Boy Who Dreamed Big is the story of how a foster child was inspired by his elementary school teacher to use his imagination to overcome his obstacles. Illustrated by Janelda Lane.

1:30 p.m. to 2 p.m.
Capitol Park Museum, Third Floor Exhibit Hall
Sioux Code Talkers of World War II
(Ages 8 to 12)

Told by Andrea M. Page the great-niece of John Bear King, who served in the First Cavalry as a Sioux Code Talker, this informative title explores not only the importance of the indigenous peoples to the war but also their culture and values.

1:45 p.m. to 2:15 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
A Tip Tap Tale
(Ages 5 to 8)

Author and artist Denise Gallagher presents the story of BouZou, a hound dog who loves to sing and play guitar, as he accompanies Slick Jim Jack from the swamp to New-Aw-Leens, but soon he is itching to return home.

2 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.
State Library, First Floor Seminar Center
You Are Not Alone: How Family and Friends Can Help You through Trying Times
(Ages 7 to 12)

Frye Galliard, Go South to Freedom
Linda Williams Jackson, Midnight Without a Moon
Corabel Shofner, Almost Paradise

2 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.
State Library, Second Floor Meeting Room
Ghosts with the Most: Paranormal Middle Grade Fiction
(Ages 8 to 12)

Michelle Schusterman, Olive and the Backstage Ghost
Ronald L. Smith, The Mesmerist

2 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
Chicory and Roux: The Creole Mouse and the Cajun Mouse
(Ages 5 to 8)

Idyllic picnics and lavish white-linen luncheons offer both delights and frights in this Southern retelling of Aesop’s classic fable by Todd-Michael St. Pierre and illustrated by Lee Brandt Randall.

2:30 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
Cajun ABC
(Ages 5 and up)

Pass a good time with author Rickey Pittman and illustrator Alexis Braud in Acadiana on this alphabetical tour of Cajun country and culture.

2:45 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
The Amazing Adventures of Oliver Hill
(Ages 8 to 12)

Oliver and his friends, Olivia and Big Zeke, enjoy life and learn something new every day. Havilah Malone shares their amazing adventures with you to show that, deep inside, lie hidden treasures that you are sure to find.

3 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.
State Library, Second Floor Meeting Room
Who We Are: Discovering Yourself
(Ages 8 to 14)

Lauren Allbright, Exit Strategy
Michael Fry, How to be a Supervillain

3:15 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.
State Library, Fifth Floor Capitol View Room
The Laughing Lady
(Ages 6 to 12)

In artist Dalt Wonk’s fantasy adventure for children, French Quarter Florence must follow the dreadful Laughing Lady into the spooky Fun House where she lives in order to rescue her beloved pet—a wise cracking bird named Signor Cockatoo.

3:15 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 2
Mumbo Jumbo Stay Out of the Gumbo
(Ages 4 to 8)

With her trademark lyricism, Louisiana musician and author Johnette Downing draws readers through an Acadian landscape.

3:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Children’s Author Tent 1
Alycat’s Adventures
(Ages 4 to 8)

Alysson Foti Bourque reads from two books in her Alycat series, Alycat and the Thursday Dessert Day and Alycat and the Monday Blues.

Storytellers

All events are located in the Storytelling Tent and geared for all ages.

10 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Danielle Bellone

10:45 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.
Sylvia Yancy Davis

11:30 a.m. to Noon
Sherry T. Broussard

12:15 p.m. to 12:45 p.m.
Philip Melancon

1 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Sheila Hebert-Collins

1:45 p.m. to 2:15 p.m.
Calliope Puppets

2:30 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Johnette Downing

3:15 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.
Neena McLain

4 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Angela Davis

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email